13 October, 2008.

I have a couple of issues with this morning’s song choice. Firstly, what the frilly heck is it doing in my head?! Secondly, pay attention, I did put a ring on it so stop nagging me!

From Beyoncé’s third studio album I Am… Sasha Fierce, this song came about following her secret marriage to Jay-Z and was inspired by the fact that Beyoncé herself was incredibly secretive about the marriage, to the point of removing her wedding ring when she was in the recording studio. As a result co-writers Terius “The-Dream” Nash and Christopher “Tricky” Stewart came up with a song about the fear of commitment, especially in men.

On its release the song became a global top ten hit, reaching number one in Brazil and the US, where it also topped the R&B and Dance charts. Here in the UK it hit number one in the R&B chart whilst spending seventy-seven weeks on the mainstream chart and peaking at number seven.