February 1980.

Not exactly the upbeat start to a Wednesday that I had hoped for, but it could be worse, a lot worse. I think my inner jukebox has proved that time and again in the past.

Written by Graham Russell and Clive Davis this featured on the 1980 album Lost in Love. The original version contained the lyrics “I’m all out of love, I want to arrest you” meaning I want to get your attention, but the band realised that although it made sense in Australia, it would sound rather strange to the rest of the world. The line was changed, at Davis’ request, to “I’m so lost without you” for the single’s international release.

The song reached the top-ten in five countries but just missed out in the UK where it peaked at number eleven after eleven weeks on the chart. It would be the only UK top-forty hit for Air Supply.