October, 1986.

I don’t know whether to be chuffed that it’s Alice Cooper in my head this morning, or somewhat freaked out because I woke up with images of Jason Voorhees in my head. The one horror villain that scared me shitless when I was younger. No, seriously, I had to sleep with the light on for weeks after watching the first Friday the 13th film.

This was written by Cooper for the 1986 instalment of the film franchise, Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives, and was released as the lead single from his 1986 album Constrictor.   The song features the trade mark ‘ki-ki-ki, ma-ma-ma’ sound effect of the series, although Cooper actually used the popular misheard version of ‘ch-ch-ch, ha-ha-ha’, yeah that one, the one that freaked me out no end.

This was not one of Cooper’s most successful chart releases, only really appealing to fans of his later recordings or slasher film enthusiasts, but critics did give the song credit for perfectly encapsulating the film series, not to mention the era when they first came to prominence. It did spend three weeks on the UK charts but only managed the dizzying heights of number sixty-one.