1976.

Okay, just what the frilly heck?! Is the lockdown beginning to take its toll on my brain? Ah, wait a minute, I’m expecting delivery of a garden composter today. It would appear something got seriously lost in translation with the inner jukebox. Still, this has made me chuckle (even if I am questioning my sanity now).

Written by Brendan O’Shaughnessy, this is a parody of the 1971 hit Brand New Key, recorded by Melanie Safka, perhaps better known for her 1970 cover of the Rolling Stones song Ruby Tuesday.

The song was first released by Irish comedian and singer Brendan Grace in 1975 and whilst it was only released in Ireland, it did reach number one there.

The following year Somerset novelty act The Wurzels released their own ‘Scrumpy and Western’ (their words, not mine) version in the UK. It spent thirteen weeks on the chart including two weeks at number one. Yet another fine example of those weird and wonderful novelty records of the 70s and 80s that you just don’t hear anymore.

Incidentally, The Wurzels turned out to be more that a one hit wonder. Later the same year they reached number three in the UK with I Am a Cider Drinker.