1949.

One day I’m grooving out with the 5th Dimension and the next it’s Disney’s greatest hits. If I was ever questioning why I still write these posts, this morning has made me certain of one thing – that sharing is far better than just standing in the kitchen, talking to myself, and wondering what the frilly heck my head is playing at!

Written in 1948 by Al Hoffman, Mack David, and Jerry Livingston, this was first recorded by actress Verna Felton, who provided the voices for many Disney characters including The Queen of Hearts in Alice in Wonderland as well as Fred Flintstone’s mother-in-law Pearl Slaghoople in The Flintstones.

The song first appeared in the 1950 film Cinderella and was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Original Song in 1951. It lost out though to Mona Lisa from the film Captain Carey, U.S.A. starring Alan Ladd.

By far the most popular recording was by Perry Como and The Fontane Sisters, who recorded their version in 1949 and went on to have a top twenty hit in the US. It reached number fourteen in the charts in 1950 as the B-Side to A Dream Is A Wish Your Heart Makes.