1958.

For a brief moment this morning I thought I had the Benny Hill theme music in my head. Then, as my sleep fogged brain began to clear, I heard a rather bad Scottish accent and realised, with much relief, that it wasn’t Benny Hill, it was this little gem instead.

Written by band leader, composer and songwriter Harry Robinson, who became known for writing film scores for Hammer Film Productions, this was recorded by Lord Rockingham’s XI, a group of session musicians for ITV’s Oh Boy! pop programme that ran from 1958-1959, led by Robinson.

Based on the Scottish folk song The Hundred Pipers, this instrumental was punctuated with stereotypical Scottish phrases (in a particularly bad Scottish accent I might add) and is known for being one of the first rock and roll songs to feature the Hammond organ, an instrument that would become popular in the years to follow.

On its release the song became a huge hit in the UK, spending seventeen weeks on the chart including three weeks at number one.

And of course, in 1993, it featured in Maynards’ unforgettable, some would say annoying, advert for their Wine Gums.