26 August 1979

So the last time I actually heard this song (outside of the inner jukebox) it was a B-side, back in 1980 (showing my age there).

Written by Chas Hodges and Dave Peacock, better known as just Chas & Dave of course, the song came about after the pair were struggling to come up with lyrics to match the line “Skinny little belly now it’s sticking out the front”. At which point Chas piped up “I don’t care, I don’t care, got my beer in the sideboard here”. The rest of the song followed quickly behind and they recorded a demo that very same day.

Originally released as a single in its own right, this only made it as far as number fifty-three after spending three weeks on the chart. However, a year later it was released as the B-Side to their 1980 top ten hit Rabbit. Then, the two songs together sent eleven weeks on the chart and peaked at number eight.