25 August, 1983.

Spandau Ballet, a group I never really ‘got’, but then I was a little young when they were at their height in the charts and as I’ve grown older they just seem a little ‘meh’ to me. Doesn’t stop me singing along though.

Written by Gary Kemp this was from their third album True and reached number two in the UK charts, being held off the top by KC and the Sunshine Band’s Give it Up (loved that song). It became their second best selling release of all time after the album’s title track reached number one earlier in the year.

The song is also known for Absolute Radio‘s celebration of the 2012 London Olympics, when breakfast DJ Christian O’ Connell pledged to play the song once for each gold medal that Great Britain gained during the games. In total it was played 29 times, including a spoken version performed by David Tennant, a whistled version and a live performance from Tony Hadley.