13 October, 2008.

Well it’s a Friday foot-tapper, I’ll give it that much, although not really my cup of tea. Still, it’s a lively little number to get things moving for the last day of the working week and for that I am grateful – even if it is Beyoncé.

From Beyoncé’s third album I Am… Sasha Fierce, this was released a double A-Side along with If I Were a Boy with the intention of showcasing the difference between Beyoncé and her on stage alter-ego Sasha Fierce.

The song is basically about mens unwillingness to commit or even propose and gave Beyoncé a global top ten hit, reaching number one in the US and Brazil. Here in the UK it spent seventy-seven weeks on the chart and peaked at number seven. Since then it has been parodied by a number of acts, including the BBC News team for the 2009 Children in Need appeal.