26 May, 1967.

I think this one is definitely dedicated to the Fraggle this morning. She’s been an absolute star, running around after me whilst I’m doddering about like an old fart…way before my time, I might add.

Although credited to Lennon-McCartney, the melody for this was actually written by Paul McCartney when he was just fourteen. He admitted himself that the song was very much cabaret influenced, it being just before rock and roll started to take hold and nobody had a clue what was coming. The lyrics were later added in honour of his father’s sixty-fourth birthday.

Featuring on the album Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, and the first song recorded for the album, this was never actually released as a single. Although it did come close to being the B-Side to Strawberry Fields or Penny Lane, but instead remained an album track.