1979.

Another one of those mornings when I know that I know the song, I remember hearing it on the radio all those years ago. I even know what it’s called. I just never remember who released it.

Written by Noel Davies, this is of course the Coventry based 2-tone Ska revival band the Selector, with their one and only UK top ten hit. The song was actually written by Davies before the Selector were formed, back when he was a member of Transposed Men (no, I’ve never heard them either).

Originally, nobody in the group wanted to record this song as they thought it sounded far too much like something destined for Eurovision. In an attempt to persuade them, producer Roger Lomas suggested they record three songs and let the record label decide which would be released. They agreed and recorded this song along with Too Much Pressure and Street Feeling. The record label inevitably chose this track, with the other two featuring on the B-side

On its release the song gave the band a top ten hit in Belgium, Netherlands and here in the UK – where it spent nine weeks on the chart and peaked at number eight.