1957.

Why is the inner jukebox singing about trombones this morning? It’s not a riddle, it’s a serious question because, quite frankly, I haven’t got a clue! All I have is an annoying ear worm ’cause I only know the first line…and it’s going over and over and over in my head. Please, make it stop!

Written by composer Meredith Willson, this was originally from the stage musical The Music Man and also appeared in the 1962 film adaptation of the same name. For the record, Judy Garland had nothing to do with either the musical or the film, but it was the only video I could find that included the lyrics I woke up with and besides, it just seemed camp enough to use.

The song has become popular with marching bands over the decades and in Wilson’s hometown of Mason City, Iowa there is now a museum dedicated to the musical, including a room with seventy-six donated trombones hanging from the ceiling.

I think I may need to go back to bed and start again…with a different song.