2 November, 1981.

Okay, I’m just going to come right out and say it (takes a deep breath) I’ve never really liked the Police. (Just to clarify, I am still talking about the group here and not the girls and boys in blue out there). Sure, I remember the songs being in the charts, can still sing along when they’re played on the radio, but then, I know the lyrics to a lot of songs I don’t like. They were just never my cup of tea and sadly fall into the ‘meh’ category for me…but I digress.

Written by Sting in 1976, before the Police were formed, this actually began life as a demo and wasn’t released until 1981. It is most noticeable for featuring a piano – an instrument not commonly used by the band.

In the UK and Ireland this was the second single released from Ghost in the Machine, whilst elsewhere in the world it was their debut single from the album. It became a global top ten hit for them and reached number one in the Netherlands, Canada and here in the UK, where it spent thirteen weeks on the chart including one week at number one.