November 2005.

A dreary song for a dreary morning. It’s just miserable, isn’t it? I am actually talking about the weather but I suppose the song choice isn’t much better really, is it? No offence Mr Blunt but this just isn’t for me, despite what the inner jukebox thinks.

Written by James Blunt and singer songwriter Sacha Skarbek, this was the second single released from Blunt’s debut album Back to Bedlam and the follow up to his debut hit You’re Beautiful. Both equally as dull if you ask me but that’s just my own opinion.

The song was recorded on a piano, in a bathroom, at Carrie Fisher’s house in Los Angeles. The two had met through a former girlfriend of Blunt’s and Fisher was very supportive of his music career, offering Blunt a place to stay and the use of said bathroom for him to record the track.

Although not as successful as his previous single, this song did still give Blunt a global top-ten hit, even reaching number one in Switzerland. In the UK it spent twenty-two weeks on the chart and peaked at number nine.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need an antidote to this sickly, dreary ballad. Maybe some AC/DC or even Ramsmstein!